USB Table Lamps for North America: The Spec Fields Buyers Miss
A lamp with USB ports is a power-supply product, not just lighting. Here is the procurement checklist for US-spec USB table lamps — output rating, isolation, bulb spec, lifetime claim and rating-plate fields — using Aolemon's Anrotix2121 as a worked example.
A home-furnishing importer buying for North American retail usually audits a table lamp the way the category has always been audited: shade material, base finish, switch feel, carton drop test. That habit breaks the moment the lamp ships with USB charging ports. The product is then two devices in one housing — a 110 V luminaire and a low-voltage power supply — and the second device carries its own compliance file, its own failure modes and its own return rate. Aolemon's US-spec model Anrotix2121 (Item No. 2026123, brand field anrotix) is a useful worked example: a 110 V, 9 W neoclassical lamp, 220 mm diameter by 540 mm high, linen shade over a solid-wood body with a metal base, a three-colour-temperature LED bulb included, ETL certified for North America. The lighting half of that sheet is complete. The charger half is where buyers should slow down.
Start with the DC output rating, because it determines what the lamp is legally allowed to promise on the shelf. The listing data for Anrotix2121 does not state the USB port output in volts, amps or watts, nor whether the port is Type-A or Type-C. Those are not marketing details; they decide whether the copy may say "fast charge" or must say "standard charge", and whether a phone that negotiates 9 V will actually get it. Ask any USB table lamp supplier for the port schedule in writing: per-port voltage, per-port current, total simultaneous output when both ports are loaded, and the protocol list (USB BC 1.2, QC, PD) the port controller supports. A 9 W lighting load and a fast-charge port can share a cord only if the input stage was sized for both at once. The second question is isolation. The data does not state whether the USB circuit is galvanically isolated from the mains side. For a metal-base lamp sold into North American homes, that answer belongs in the technical file, not in a sales email — an isolated flyback design and a non-isolated buck tied to the line behave very differently when a user plugs in a phone with wet hands.
Then treat the lamp half with the same rigour, because vague fields there also generate returns. The data gives 40,000 h as the stated lifespan, but a lifetime claim is only as good as its test basis: ask whether it is an LM-80/TM-21 projection for the LED package or a marketing number, and ask for colour temperature in kelvin. "Three-colour-temperature" describes a switching behaviour, not a measurement — buyers need the three CCT values and the corresponding luminous flux in lumens, plus CRI if the lamp is merchandised for reading or makeup. For the LED bulb included, confirm the base type, whether it is replaceable by the end user, and whether the bulb itself carries the required markings; a certified lamp fitted with an uncertified bulb is a common and avoidable audit finding. On the housing, linen shade and solid wood are fine for retail, but ask for the fabric's flammability test report and the wood's moisture-content spec, since both affect how the unit survives a North American winter warehouse. Finally, request the rating plate artwork: model number, electrical ratings, ETL mark, caution text and the manufacturer or importer identity must match the technical file exactly, and standby power draw should be declared if the USB circuit is live whenever the lamp is plugged in.
The angle for a US plug table lamp OEM programme is that the charger half of the spec sheet is where your margin and your liability both sit. A lamp that fails a drop test costs you a replacement; a lamp whose USB port overheats costs you a recall conversation. So build the purchase order around documents rather than adjectives. Ask for the ETL certificate and its follow-up service procedure, the FCC declaration for the USB circuitry, a RoHS statement covering both the luminaire and the power section, and the isolation test data. Ask for MOQ, unit price, lead time, warranty terms and tooling or private-label fees in writing, and ask specifically how a warranty claim is handled — repair-only or repair-or-replace, who pays freight, and the turnaround time — because those terms are not in the product data and should never be assumed. Ask for a pre-production sample of the exact 110 V configuration, not a 220 V unit with a plug adapter, and test both USB ports simultaneously under load for an hour while logging temperature.
None of this is exotic; it is simply the checklist that lighting buyers and power-supply buyers each assume the other is running. Run both. If you are sourcing USB table lamps with dual charging ports for North American retail and online channels, Aolemon manufactures the Anrotix2121 in Guangzhou under an ETL-certified, 110 V, 9 W configuration with a linen shade, solid-wood body and three-colour-temperature LED bulb, and can walk your team through the port schedule, isolation approach and rating-plate fields before you commit to a programme. Bring your own test protocol; the supplier who welcomes it is the one worth a second order.